Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust (DHCFT) is an integrated provider of specialist mental health services across the city of Derby and wider county of Derbyshire.  We also provide a range of children’s physical and mental health services in Derby, and specialist services across the county including substance misuse, eating disorders and learning disabilities.

The Trust provides services to a diverse population, including areas of wealth alongside significant deprivation.  The Trust’s catchment includes both city and rural populations, with 71 languages being spoken.

Successful partnership working is key to the delivery of many of our services. The Trust works in close collaboration with our commissioners and fellow providers of local healthcare services, together with local authority colleagues at Derby City Council and Derbyshire County Council, and voluntary and community sector organisations.

Previously Derbyshire Mental Health Services NHS Trust, the Trust was granted Foundation Trust status on 1 February 2011.  The Trust integrated with universal children and family services for Derby in 2011, following the dissolution of Derby City Primary Care Trust.

Our strapline, ‘Better Together’ reflects the Trust’s ethos of collaborative working, with our service users, carers, partners and staff to collectively improve health and wellbeing.

Key Facts of the Trust

  • Annual turnover of £125m
  • Workforce of over 2300
  • Operates from 100 sites across Derbyshire
  • 15 Acute adult and older people inpatient wards
  • 2 Rehabilitation wards
  • 2 Day hospitals
  • 8,737 public members

Foundation Trust Status

Derbyshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust was established on 1 February 2011 when Monitor, the Independent Regulator of NHS Foundation Trusts, under its powers under Section 35 of the National Health Service Act 2006, authorised Derbyshire Mental Health Services NHS Trust to become a Foundation Trust.

The Trust has 27 Governors, 16 of whom are elected public governors and four are elected staff governors.  The remaining governors are representatives from our partner and stakeholder agencies.  As well as the governors the Trust has a circa 8000 membership.